Prof. Dr. Gerhard Naegele

Director of the Institute of Gerontology, TU/Technical University of Dortmund

Publish Date: November  21,  2013


Apprenticeship as industrial clerk (1967 – 69), studies of economy and social sciences in Berlin and Cologne (1969 -1973); Academic degrees: Diploma degree as micro economist (1972), Diploma degree as teacher in business economy (1973); PhD, Dr. rer. pol., Dissertation on „Social inequality in old age“(1976, University of Cologne); Habilitation on „Getting old in the labour world“ (1991, University of Kassel).


Present appointments:

Director of the Institute of Gerontology at the TU/Technical University of Dortmund since 1992; Member (since 1990), member of the managing committee (1992 – 1998), member of the board of trustees (since 2013) of the „Kuratorium Deutsche Altershilfe“; Member of the editorial advisory board of the magazine „Theory and -practice of the social work“; Visiting professor at the Akdeniz University of Antalya/Turkey, Department of Social Gerontology since 2008; Co-editor of „Dortmunder contributions to social sciences” (publisher: VS Verlag für Sozialwissenschaften, Wiesbaden) (since 2010).

Previous appointments:

Professor for Social Policy at the TU/Technical University of Dortmund for Applied Science (1981-1991); Professor of Social Gerontology at the Technical University of Dortmund (1992- 2013); Founder and chair of the master study-course „Ageing Societies“ at the Technical University Dortmund (2010-2013); Expert member of the Federal “Inquiry Commission of the German Parliament looking into the consequences of demographic change” (1992 – 2002); Member of the Scientific Board of the German Centre on Ageing (DZA, Berlin) (2002-2009); Member of the managing board of the Social research Centre (Sozialforschungsstelle) of the TU/Technical University of Dortmund (2008 – 2012); Member of the 5th (2002-2005) and 6th (2008-2010) Federal commission reporting on the situation of elderly people in Germany; Member of the Inquiry Commission „Future care needs in North Rhine Westphalia” of the NRW-Parliament (2003 – 2005); Owner of the Max-Bürger-Prize of the German Society of Geriatrics and Gerontology (2009); Scientific head of the Federal Commission to look into age-discrimination (2012).